I'm a beginner, so why does the noise matter?

a1157814a

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I often read about in articles such as camera buying guides, talking about how noisy camera can be at high ISO or something like that... This might be a completely stupid question (or maybe not), but why does noise matter when taking a photograph?

I often read about in articles such as camera buying guides, talking about how noisy camera can be at high ISO or something like that... This might be a completely stupid question (or maybe not), but why does noise matter when taking a photograph?

You do realize "noise" in this context is a visual effect rather than audible?

You do realize "noise" in this context is a visual effect rather than audible?

I thought that too, maybe it meant grainy... lol
but this page -
Noise - DSLRs are generally more noisy to use than point and shoots. This will vary depending upon the lens you use but while point and shoots can be almost silent when taking a shot a DSLR will generally have a ‘clunk’ as the mechanisms inside it do their thing. I personally quite like this sound - but it’s something that is a factor for some.
http://digital-photography-school.com/blog/should-you-buy-a-dslr-or-point-and-shoot-digital-camera/

I also came across many other websites talking about how noise can be a big disadvantage... I wasn't sure why noise mattered though?

Noise in photography.
Here is a link that will explain noise to you, as pertaining to photography.

I thought that too, maybe it meant grainy... lol
but this page -
Noise - DSLRs are generally more noisy to use than point and shoots. This will vary depending upon the lens you use but while point and shoots can be almost silent when taking a shot a DSLR will generally have a ‘clunk’ as the mechanisms inside it do their thing. I personally quite like this sound - but it’s something that is a factor for some.
http://digital-photography-school.com/blog/should-you-buy-a-dslr-or-point-and-shoot-digital-camera/