Im a beginner

mike11165

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Im a beginner, but I dont want to ask beginners for the questions I have so Im not on the beginner forum, sorry. I am about to go from simple portrait and family pictures to more complex outdoor/ low light level and sports shots. I want to buy a digital SLR camera and have many questions. I want to upgrade to this type of camera but dont want to buy more than I need (im looking at nikon d300 or canon EOS 30 D)... they both seem like more camera than I need, but yet dont want to feel an upgrade is needed in the next year or so as my skills advance. I have also been told to spend more money on the lens than the camera body because thats where the picture quality comes from.... is that true?

Help.. ideally lm looking for camera and lens in the 1000 combined range but can go higher if it makes sense for an amateur...thanks!

I don't think you're gonna find a D300 with a lens for $1000.

The body alone is around $1600 at most places. Give or take.

Yeah, that's what the D300 sells for at my work. 1648 or somethin'

The d200 just went on sale, down to 992..

yes i have been looking at that camera and it is more than the 1000 I was hoping to spend but is it worth the money over say a d40 or d50? thanks

the D300 isn't even in the same class as the d40. D40 is very entry level, you'd outgrow it very quickly.

D300 is mid-level. So, yes it is worth the money over a d40, but so is a d80. (higher end entry level)

yes i have been looking at that camera and it is more than the 1000 I was hoping to spend but is it worth the money over say a d40 or d50? thanks