I'm new to photography

kchapman0304

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My husband bought me a Sony a560. Mostly for shoot and click but now i'm really starting to get a hand on it but have a few questions. Theres a few things I don't know what they do or change does anyone have one of these cameras or a Sony just like it to help me through it?! and I was taking pictures of my niece and nephew today and I found the exposure button and it was a beautiful cloudy day so there were no shadows and without the flash even if they moved a little it would blur?! With kids thats hard to get them to sit still while your trying to find the right exposure for a cloudy day. Its usually really bright and sunny. Any input to help me get started would be GREAT!!!! Thank you,

Kim:sexywink:

It blurred because your shutter speed was not high enough. To remedy this, try using the lowest aperture possible. This opens up the iris inside the lens and lets in more light.

If opening up the lens to its widest doesn't help, then try using a higher ISO setting. This affects the sensor's sensitivity to light. The higher the ISO, the higher the shutter speeds you can use to get a proper exposure. Be careful though, because higher ISOs cause higher grain in photos.

It would be helpful if you would tell us what lens you are using? :)

The larger the lens opening relative to the focal length, the bigger the number, because it's a fraction of the ratio of the lens focal length to the lens opening. f/3.5 is a much bigger number than f/8 is.

With an 18-55 mm kit lens, the lens opeing is larger at the 55 mm focal length and f/5.6, than the lens opening is at 18 mm for the focal length and f/3.5 setn for the lens opening.

The math: 18 mm divided by 3.5 = 5.14 mm for the lens opening, while 55 mm divided by 5.6 = 9.82 mm for the lens opening.