"In his cups" -Help me please

cruise

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.eduplusnow.com
Hi, it has been a while since I have posted.... as life has been busy.
Anyway I took a few photos recently of ricky aged just 1 week in a large cup I bought Recently.The photo was on white seamless with clear plexi-glass on the floor.
Please let me know what you think and how I can make this shot better, and also please feel free to tweak the image and post your results along.
I just cannot seem to get the image to pop enough.

Regards;

i think it's good as is. don't think you'll be able to get it to 'pop' any more. but i would change the watermark, it looks like a date stamp

To me it seems a little too white. I am no expert by any measure, but I tried a couple of things to see if you liked them. I'm using a 30 day trial of Photoshop CS3.

The first one, I just went to adjustments, then shadows/highlights and put shadows to 0 and lowered highlights to 5% (it actually looks good up to 10% but I wanted to be conservative here). If you lower the highlights like this, the blanket no longer blends in with the background.

babybycruised.jpg

And just for fun, I tried two lighting effects (filters, render, lighting effects...)

2 o'clock spotlight (type spotlight, intensity 17, focus -67, Material -58 on the plastic side, exposure 0, and ambience 20)

babybycruiseb.jpg

Flashlight (type omni, intensity 28, gloss matte -100, material plastic -100, exposure 0, ambience -7...I centered the effect on the blanket to the right of baby's chin)

babybycruisec.jpg

Mine may not be as good as the others but thought I would give it a try

untitled1gm9.jpg

The original is good IMO, I also like crownlaurel's third edit. I would try darken just the background and not anything else though.