In need of help.

Jixii1270

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new in the photography world (3 months), and I am looking to buy a Speedlite/flash, but I have no clue what I am looking for. I currently have a Canon T7i with a 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8, 10-18MM 4.5-5.6 and an 18-55mm 3.5-5.6. I'm still learning, but I find that I love portraits and street/urban photography.

My question is what kind of Speedlite do I get, what do I look for in a Speedlite/flash.

Look for the power level, and the price you can afford! More powerful models cost more. Canon-brand costs significantly more than Yongnuo or Neewer or Meike. Scantips.com is an excellent site to learn a LOT about flash units! The site's founder and creator is a member here, and he KNOWS his flash stuff!

Digital Image Basics 101 - All about images from cameras and scanning

I'd spend $80-$159, generally on a newer, made-in-China, third-party flash. Much more for a genuine Canon-branded model.

.. I love portraits and street/urban photography.
Be sure the head tilts and swivels.

You'll find that you can still get good light if you bounce the light from some nearby white/light surface, even when the flash is mounted in the hotshoe.

If money isn't a big concern and you want automation... Canon's new Speedlite 470EX-AI is pretty slick.

This is marketed more toward entry level photographers (an experienced photographer would not be likely to use the AI feature).

The flash measures the ceilings, walls, subject distance, etc. and determines how best to angle the flash head to get the best lighting.

But not cheap... it is about $400.

As your first flash, don't expect the flash to meet ALL your needs.
  • As your first flash, I advise caution. Going whole hog, with a high end Canon (or Nikon for the Nikon shooters) flash may seem ideal, but you will spend a lot of $$$ and may not use most of its capabilities.