Indoor to cold outdoor temerature. Camera fogging?

purpleorbes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I just bought a nikon d5300 and I am a complete beginner. It is 4 degrees in Indiana right now and before I take my camera outside do I need to worry about it fogging? I know my glasses do so I figured my camera would to.
Any tips on how to prevent this and taking the camera from warm to cold temps and cold to warm temps would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks

Your camera is just like your glasses and so can indeed fog up when going from one extreme temperature to another. Generally speaking you leave it a while to get used to the new temperature and the fogging should clear itself; though it can be a pain if you suddenly want to take a shot.

The best way is to store the camera somewhere where its roughly in the same ambient temperature; eg you might be able to leave it in a porch or suchlike before going out to shoot.

Thanks for your reply. I was worried that the fogging wouldn't clear and ruin the camera.
Thanks again.

Taking a warm camera outside should not cause any problems. Bringing the cold camera back indoors will. I leave lens caps on and the camera in a closed camera bad until I've had a cup of tea. By then, it should have warmed up enough not to be a problem. Not as cold here as Indiana, mind.

Sent from my A1-840 using Tapatalk

So when bringing it back inside I should have the lens cap on and have the camera inside camera bag?
Thanks for your info. Much appreciated.

If I'm out shooting in the cold and when it's time to go back into a warm environment, I'll put my camera under my jacket for a few minutes and that usually warms it up enough where no condensation will build up.

A big zip lock bag to put the camera works really well.

If you have a sunroom or mud room that isn't generally heated but still is somewhat warm, that would work too.