Indoor Wedding Photography/Dance Floor Question

bradracino

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all

New to this forum, so bear with me if this is in the wrong spot.
I've been a photographer for a while but I just got into wedding photography a couple years back. My photos have improved a lot, but I seem to encounter the same problem with a few different reception halls. A lot of the halls have reflective mirrors on the ceiling above the dance floor, and most of them have some type of lighting (chandelier, etc) hanging from those mirrors. So when i take photos on the dance floor (bounce flash), the lighting is always different and the shadows and highlights are scattered all over the subjects. I can never nail any solid shots in these locations. What can i do? I've attached examples below...in one of the photos you can see the type of ceiling i'm talking about. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

troubleshoot-1.jpg

troubleshoot-2.jpg

troubleshoot-3.jpg

troubleshoot-4.jpg

troubleshoot-5.jpg

troubleshoot-6.jpg

troubleshoot-7.jpg

Looks tough.

Don't take my word for it but first thing that springs to my mind is to crank the ISO right up, use the maximum aperture your lens goes to so that you don't have to use flash! perhaps you can do that and use the flash straight ahead with a diffuser/bounce card? at a low power, just enough for a little fill? (but then you risk the reflection of flash in the mirrors on the walls etc anyway)..

I'm sure other people will come along and give better methods.. :)

Welcome to the forum.

I've shot in a lot of reception halls...some of them are great, some not so bad and some of them are down right terrible. I have a couple different accesories and techniques that I might use, depending on the location.