Is a big ole flash really nessacery???

Addicted2Photoz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just starting out with a photography business, I plan on doing alot of beach portraits, now I'm scratching my head wondering if I should go ahead and buy a nice flash for my canon rebel xti. Would this really be worth it for just outdoor beach portraits? What if I'm just shooting 1 person, is a really big flash nessacery or can I just use the small pop up one on the camera? Any kind of help is appreciated.

Why would you need it? Will you be shooting while it's bright outside? If so, then you shouldn't need it. Will you be shooting during twilight but you still want to see your subject? If so, then you'd want a bright light that you could diffuse off-axis so that your subject will still be lit.

It all depends upon your situation.

Yeah but sometimes I like to shoot my photos at sunset with the sun in the background, I need a brighter flash for this... Nevermind I guess I just answered my own question..

Read up on fill-flash and lighting your subject against a bright background. The answer is, in short, yes, you need a speed light flash even on the beach.

Read up on fill-flash and lighting your subject against a bright background. The answer is, in short, yes, you need a speed light flash even on the beach.

Ditto. You need to learn how to use fill flash. The pop-up will be insufficent at telephoto ranges. You need a flash with a higher guide number. A lightstand is also a boon to get it off camera and place catchlights correctly.

I'm just starting out with a photography business
or can I just use the small pop up one on the camera?
These two sentences worry me.

I would hope that someone starting a business would have a better understanding of the craft. Don't take that the wrong way, we all have to start somewhere.