Is shooting exteriors legal?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by tonycroatia, Apr 4, 2016.

1. tonycroatia

tonycroatia TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi everyone! So i making real estate photography portfolio and i need some photos to put on my website, i saw a lot beautiful houses in my neighborhood so can i shoot house and put in my website without permission?

2. 480sparky

480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If:
    1. You're in the US and
    2. You take the image from public property (ie, the street, sidewalk etc),

Then yes. However, don't be surprised if you end up involuntarily chatting with the local constabulary.

I have no comment if you're outside the US.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. JoeW

JoeW Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV. And as 480Sparky pointed out, where you are in the world matters on this. Yes, you can shoot buildings that are viewable from public space (like a sidewalk or road). However, the owner (or a HOA) may have the ability to argue you're loitering.

While you could just take pictures from the sidewalk, I'm not sure what this does for you. Some of the shots that real estate agents are more likely to want will be good INTERIOR shots. Additionally, what I think would be very powerful for you is a short article on your website/portfolio that talks about composition and shooting angles...so a shot of the house from a cellphone...okay...then the same house in better light, slightly different angle, some post production and "oh, wow!"

4. chuasam

chuasam Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    No, you need a property release to use the images on your website...if it is commercial usage. If it's fine arts work then whatever.

5. robbins.photo

robbins.photo Yup, It's The Zoo Guy Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit