Is this a good tripod set?

sneak3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there!

Im about to buy my first tripod + ballhead set. Im looking for something light and small.

I was recommended the carbon series from manfrotto with a manfrotto ballhead.

Im in between these options:

tripod manfrotto 190CXPRO 3/4:
Manfrotto 190CXPRO3 3-Section Carbon Fiber Tripod Legs 190CXPRO3
or
Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 4-Section Carbon Fiber Tripod Legs 190CXPRO4

ballhead 496/498C2
Manfrotto 496RC2 Compact Ball Head with 200PL-14 QR Plate 496RC2
or
Manfrotto 498RC2 Midi Ball Head with 200PL-14 QR Plate 498RC2

What do you think? Would these options make a good combo? Any other suggestions? Maybe from another brand?

Just remember Im not looking for ultra super stability. Im an amateur photographer who wishes to travel lightly.

Thank you!

I have the 190CXPRO3 legs with an 054 head and it works very well. I prefer the 3-section legs because they normally tend to be a bit more stable than 4-section legs. They are, however, slightly longer when collapsed. Either of those heads are probably OK however I prefer one with a level vial on it.

I have the same set-up as Scott and I agree with his comments; any of the combinations you've posted will be okay, but those heads will be a little light if you're putting a gripped body and big, 2.8 zoom on it.

My heaviest lenses are probably the 70-300, 17-50 and 10-20. I dont have a grip too.

Should I go with the 496 then? Cheaper, so in the future, if I ever get a grip and a 70-200, I can get a tougher head?

You can do one of two things:
1. You can buy a lightweight head now and a stronger head in the future, knowing the whole time that at some point you WILL get a stronger head.
2. You can get the strong head now and skip getting the lightweight head.