Is this timeline realistic? Am I buying the right Camera?

Claire Pacelli

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Two weeks ago after point and shoot photographing a friends wedding, I realized how much I love being behind a lens, at one point I was kneeling on the floor to get a shot of the brides dress, creeping behind the cake to get an image of the wedding from the "precious moments figurine" point of view, pretend signing her guestbook to get a picture of someone writing on it. I found out that I was a wedding photographer without the knowledge, business know how, and most importantly, the camera! Well all thats changing and I want to make sure I am taking the right steps.

I am looking to buy a good starter DSLR, I was looking at the Canon EOS Rebel t1i kit, the 50mm f/1.8, and a telephoto lens. Is this a good choice?

My game plan is as follows:

December2010: Buy Camera, learn buttons, memorize manual, read Understanding Exposure, listen to podcast, join PPA, join forums.

January 10, 2011 - July 2011: Digital Photography 1, Digital Photography 2, Advanced Photography, Portraiture Photography, Wedding photography as a business seminar. Practice like crazy on my nieces (2 years and newborn) - my beautiful model friend - my cute newly engaged friends ect.

July-December 2011: Start charging at a 75% discounted "Portfolio Building Rate" for Senior Photo's, Newborn and Toddler, Family, Boudoir, and Engagement photography. (Word of mouth, Craigslist)

January - July2012: Start Advertising using SEO, Google Adsense, Adwords, Create Blog/Website, get in the free wedding guide, build a following.

July 2012 - December 2012 - Start looking for a intership, assistant, or second shooter position from a professional wedding photographer. Learn the ropes. Continue to grow photography business. Start saving for backup equipment (second camera, lens', battery packs ect).

January 2013: Start 50% "Portfolio building discount" for weddings.