issues with sharpness, d90

zeppman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I'm a beginner, and picked up a d90 a few days ago. I just went out during my lunch break to take a few shots, and was rather disappointed with how washed out, soft and un-sharp they were. I was using aperture and shutter priority, and it was a sunny day, iso200.

I can't upload photos at this time since I'm at work and they block that stuff. Any experts on the d90 have any tips they can provide until I can upload photos? I haven't really changed anything on the camera except shutter, aperture and iso. I tried changing the EV a few times, adjusting for what i saw in the lcd.

Thanks.

You will have to post some examples, preferably along with the EXIF data.

OK, sorry, I'll do that as soon as I get home. My other question (while I'm here) was that I chose the option to do jpeg+raw on my computer, yet the camera only gave me doubles in jpeg format. Why did I not get the NEF files?

OK, sorry, I'll do that as soon as I get home. My other question (while I'm here) was that I chose the option to do jpeg+raw on my computer, yet the camera only gave me doubles in jpeg format. Why did I not get the NEF files?
If you choose RAW+JPEG on the camera, then that's what you should get. Are you sure that it's giving you double JPEG files? (are you actually viewing the file types, not just the icons, which may look alike?)

If you choose RAW+JPEG on the camera, then that's what you should get. Are you sure that it's giving you double JPEG files? (are you actually viewing the file types, not just the icons, which may look alike?)

Further, if he's looking at unprocessed RAW images, they're going to look flat.