it's a bird

Buzzlightyear

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
the only decent shot i was able to get. im still learning so please dont be too harsh but please tell me what i could have done better

$animals6-19-2014013_zps2e529097.jpg

apeture f/8
shutter speed 1/800s
iso 100

It looks pretty dark. What do the other photos look like? Why 1/800s?

Well it is a little dark and underexposed - so really raising your ISO in this situation would have been a good idea. You might also want to do some reading on composition, in particular google search the "rule of thirds" and do some quick reading there. Just out of curiosity what camera/lens combo are you using?

its a nikon d3200 with a af-s nikor 55-200mm. i really dont know what i should put my settings at yet can anyone recomend some online reading so i can better understand iso apature and shutter speed

It looks pretty dark. What do the other photos look like? Why 1/800s?

And why ISO 100?
It's quite underexposed, plus it looks like maybe the sun was out in front of the bird, so you got the front of it in a harsh light, and the rest in complete shadow.

Birds are not nearly as easy to shoot as people THINK they are going to be. Generally, trying to get good bird photos serves to make you appreciate people who can get good bird photos more! :D

Ideally, try to shoot with the light behind you, so you are basically between the light source and the bird. Focus on the eye. And watch your composition; try not to have your subject smack in the middle of the frame like it is here. Additionally, this would be a more effective image if the bird were facing you instead of facing away. No, you can't really "control" that per se--you can't just tell the bird to turn around (well, you CAN, but trust me, there's really no point, lol). But you CAN learn when to actuate the shutter and when to wait for a better shot.