I've got a gig shooting a billboard ad spot and I have a few questions. Please help!!

MSmith89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, I'm a freelance videographer (self-taught), and I've started doing some work for a company that has now requested me to take some photos for an ad-campaign that will be featured on some back-lit billboards at the Wells Fargo center in Philadelphia. I've really only been doing video professionally for a couple of years, so, needless to say, there is still a lot I need to learn regarding professional photo/video production. I've never shot photo's for something like this so I have some questions, hopefully you guys can help.

First, they've sent me a spec sheet for the various sizes of the boards the the stills will be placed on. The sheet reads as follows...

1. Main: 6x20 Backlits • Quantity: One (1) • Panel Area: 5’ 10.5”h by 19’ 11.75”w • Copy Area: 5’ 7.5”h by 19’ 8”w • Artwork: Please send sized, eps, hi-res artwork files

2. Main: 2x12 Backlits • Quantity: One (1) • Panel Area: 22.5”h by 11’10.5”w • Copy Area: 19.5”h by 11’7.5”w • Artwork: Please send sized, eps, hi-res artwork files
  3. Main & Mezz: Backlits • Quantity: Six (6) • Panel Area: 7”h by 142.75”w • Copy Area: 4”h by 139.75”w • Artwork: Please send sized, eps, hi-res artwork files

My Questions...

• Will my Canon 5d or even my t3i be suitable for taking photos ending up in these formats?
  • Is there an internal picture setting I should change in my camera to meet these needs?
  • I'm pretty sure some of these signs will be viewed at a rather close viewing distance (3-5 feet), how will this affect my final image resolution?
  • When they say, "Please send sized, eps, hi-res artwork files," what exactly are they looking for? Final format-wise.
  • Is there any more information I should get from them?