I've seen the light (but the wall hasn't... help!)

Sim

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I got two speedlites a couple weeks ago and have been experimenting with them ever since. I took this picture last night and need a bit of advice about removing the shadow above/behind my head:

2953704822_539c5be6d2.jpg

I know ideally I should have shot it so there was no shadow present, but I didn't quite manage it (for the record, I did have a flash behind me shooting up but hey, I'm still learning). Anyway, I know a reshoot would be the best approach, but I'm curious how others would go about removing the shadow if that wasn't an option. I use Photoshop CS3 for editing -- what tools/steps would you follow? I've tried the clone tool and dodging but nothing looks quite right.

Edit: full res jpg is available here if anyone's interested.

Last edited:
I'm perplexed, and can only come up with maybe the pages have hot spots from the front flash. It would be a nice challenge to correct it without resorting to PS. Perhaps you can PM MyaLover, who usually hangs out in People photography. She's great with lighting.

There is not much data in your thumbnail, so cloning results are blotchy... even at larger resolutions it could be difficult to get an even looking result... but once you have your self isolated on a layer, larger clone stamps, and then some smaller cleanup cloning should work alright at full rez.

Alternatively you could just paint gradients or whatever behind your isolated layer. Look at the layers in this PS.

You might underexpose a stop or two and then adjust curves and levels to regain dynamic range in post. Sorry if I'm nerding out on your here..

-Shea :mrgreen:

sim-toronto-edit.jpg