Just some photos I took of my niece

Photomom85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was gifted some studio equipment so I thought I would try it out with my niece. I know they are not great. Any lighting suggests or anything would be helpful. Yes these were shot in Program mode. I am still learning my aperture settings and such for the situation in which I am shooting. I am in the middle of speaking with a consulor at The Art Institute of Pittsburg to find out about enrolling in classes to get my degree and learn more. Also speaking with a local photographer to see if he can help me out and guide me in the right direction. Once again I know these aren't great and this was my first time ever using studio equipment. I added some I edited as well and one of my son I took the day I got all of the equipment. Sorry to carry on lol Thanks!!

(Equipment used Canon T3i, Canon Speedlite 420ex, Canon EFS 18-55mm, and Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8)​

Last edited:
#1-5,8 & 9 IMO your studio lighting is too high. If it were me i would bring the lights more down to her height. Left and right at 45 degrees and stop your long light one lower. That would give you more depth and eliminate the shadows im seeing from the cheeks/lips down and under the flower head band.
#2 If it were me, i would pull the bottom towards me to give it a seemless look.
#8 Cropped too close, i want to see all the ear and the headband. Then IMO why did you put it in b&w? we have had color since 1930s. It would have melted my heart to see those big open eyes in color. And if you would have had the lighting lower to the ground it would have really popped the color in her eyes.

Composure is mostly good and posing is good too. I can appreciate the work that went into getting your niece into a position and the picture taken