Landscape shots C&C

PJL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone. I'm a very novice photographer and I usually don't like to put creative stuff I've done out for criticism, but I figure it's the only way I'm going to improve. These are a few shots I took in New Zealand on a recent trip there and I'd like your thoughts about them. Thanks :)

For the record, the first, second, and fourth were taken with a 35mm Rebel G using Fujifilm Pro 160S film, while the third was taken with a Canon PowerShot A590is.

78320181.jpg

img1998k.jpg

editseascape.jpg

78320048.jpg

Those certainly are not shots taken in NYS. ;)

The mountain shots are nice, but shots seen all the time. Even though I would probably shoot them the same way. Also, it is difficult to say much with those, as they are limited in size, thus clarity.

I like the color of #2, it makes me feel cold.

The last water shot might look different if you were to lie down on the beach and try that angle.

It is nice work though...

Unfortunately I only have low-res scans to work with from the 35mm. I got a few enlargements made, though (12x24 from the first, 11x14 from the 2nd and 3rd, and an 8x12 from the fourth); all of them held up except the first one, which was blurry just because of the level of cropping to get it to those dimensions.

And thanks :)

Wow
Film shots and scans. I understand.
Sorry, I hope you were not thinking I thought they were bad shots.

One of my MOs is to make comments and listen to what people say about my comments. Sometimes a great way to learn on forums.

Very nice.

#1 looks like it has a bit of a yellow color cast to the foliage.

I think #2 and #4 are the best.

#2 is really good because you have the small people as a reference point to really drive home the magnitude of these mountains. I would crop in ( or would have shot it a little tighter ) so that you have the two distant people in the pic, but not the two people sitting by the water.