Layering in Photoshop

buddugan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I am a noob at Adobe Photoshop, but heard it was good, so got it on Black Friday. I have had art class in the past and remember using layers by going from front to back, which is what I'm trying to do with Photoshop. Lets say I just pick any picture, perhaps one simple scene of a person at the beach . Since the person is a layer herself, can I crop it easily and copy it for another picture? Or do I have to use the infamous magic wand? Thanks in advance. -Bud

seagulls.jpg

http://www.north-topsail-beach.org/images/seagulls.jpg

Yes. I'm not completely certain what you're trying to do, but from what I think you're asking, yes. Just try it.

The person is not on a layer by herself unless you cut her out. If you just open a picture, a jpg, it's going to be flattened to 1 layer, a background layer, containing all the elements of the photo. It's your job to seperate them, if that's what you desire. There are much better methods than using the lasso tool, but that is essentially what you'd have to do, yes.

If I understand the question correctly then no. A jpeg is a single flat layer. The layers in photoshop are made while working with images, and can be retained only if you save in PSP or another layering format. As soon as you go back to standard jpeg you loose the layering.

With the example above if I open that image I have one layer called background. I can magic wand the girl, click edit copy, and edit paste, and the image will look like nothing has changed. That is however because the girl was pasted exactly over the top of herself, the difference is now she's on her own layer. I can move her around change her colour and adjust all settings of the girl now independantly without having to use the magic wand again, amongst other far more powerful options.

What if I converterd the picture? Will a different format like .bmp or something else work?