Learning from my mistakes

Salewis555

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good Morning everyone,

So I am very new to photography and I just bought the Cannon 80D with the 18-135 USM. I have been doing so much research and watching so many videos about photography and learned so much so far. Mainly with this camera I am going to be taking family pictures, just of the things we do. I finally took the camera out for the first time yesterday when we went to the pumpkin patch and I had a few questions about why my pictures came out the way they did. Most of them came out good and a few great buy some have small blurs in them like the one below. I got a majority in focus but the hay in her hands is blurry. I was shooting in Av mode. Tv 1/40, Av 5.0, ISO 400, 29.0MM. In order to get rid of the blur, should I have set the ISO higher, so the shutter speed would have been quicker? If not what was wrong with my setting, when the picture was taken? We were in a barn and the lighting was not the greatest but it was still good.

30238913310_31dc46ca2a_z.jpg

What's wrong with the hay in motion having some blur?

Faster shutter speed would have frozen the the movement of the hay. If the light wasn't that good, then yes, increasing ISO would enable faster shutter speed. Typically you would want 800 + shutter speed to stop motion. Keep in mind you will want to experiment with your ISO speeds to find out the max speed for an exceptable image in relation to noise. Also, an off camera flash bracket and a speedlight can help freeze motion as well. When the speedlight is off camera, it helps prevent shadows behind the subject.

I see nothing wrong with showing blur when something is moving. At least you got the model not blurry. Speaking of the model, if you had gotten closer and lower, and used a tiny bit of flash for fill, it would have been better. The flash would also have stopped the blur as well.