Lens Advice for Rodeo Photography

Discussion in 'Canon Lenses' started by mckbrown, Oct 28, 2015.

1. mckbrown

mckbrown TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello!

I have been shooting at a few local rodeo and rough stock events in our area. At the end of November I get to photograph a rodeo school and am needing some help in regards of what lens I should use. I have a Canon EOS Rebel T3. I have the 18-55mm lens that it came with, as well as a 75-300mm lens. While they both can get the job done, I'm really not a big fan of either and am sure there is something else out there I could use. Hoping to rent a lens and play around with some before I buy one. Any advice? I shoot mainly outdoor arenas, and the school will be outdoor, so the lighting is much better than indoor, obviously. I'm a newbie at this, so I'm still getting used to all the functions. That could also be something I need to do, adjust with the lenses that I have. Any and all advice is VERY welcomed!

2. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Stock pro lens for so,so many events: Camera maker's current 70-200mm f/2.8 lens, meaning the relatively new Canon 70-200 L-series lens with Image Stablizer (IS) and ultrasonic focusing motor, USM, and the second incarnation, aka the Mark II. It is a fully-professional lens that is the stock in trade of many working pros and serious shooters. Focuses fast, gathers a lot of light, and has superb optics for a zoom lens, balances well when shot hand-held, and is just an all-around great lens for many types of fluid shooting situations. I would rent one of these, just so you can experience what a world-class zoom lens is all about. That would be my recommendation for a rental lens, so you could see first hand what a really fine, fine lens can do for you.