Lens Education!

Becky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey again...

Is anyone able to explain to me the difference between lenses, i.e I know you can have say a 28mm-90mm but how does this differ from another lens and why? How do you know which lens to use for what?

I know its basic but as an SLR newb I still have loads of questions about stuff like this and its hard to know whats what! I've been researching lots online to try and limit the amount of stupid questions I ask but I can't find a basic easy to understand answer!

Thankyou :hail:

Well, you have aparature and optics mainly...or atleast thats the best I know..

The lower the number, the higher the aparature, the better the lens because with, for example that 1.8 lens you may get, you will get a very shallow depth of field.
Optics, just means the lens pictures look nicer I think, and then you have faster focusing, stronger housing and what not.
Id suggest for you, just go by the aparature for now and dont worry about other things, some lenses that have a f/1.8 up to 3.5 arent bad, but will be more expensive :)

Sounds like a basic book in the principles of photography would be a worth while read for you.

The "mm" on lenses denotes what focal length they are. The higher the number the larger the focal length and the closer you appear to get to the subject. I was tought that 50mm is about what the human eye is so > 50mm makes the subject appear closer than normal and < 50mm makes the subject appear farther away.

The f number of the lens is the f-stop. It tells you how wide the aperature is. The numbers are fractions so the actual number is inverse to the width of the aperature. The larger the number the smaller the aperature, IE a smaller hole for light to pass through.