Lens ideas for indoor pictures

daacrusher2001

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to photography and I was hoping someone in the forum can help.

I have a Canon EOS Rebel and I only have a zoom lens for it. I bought it photograph the kids sports events, and it's been pretty good for that, although, the lens doesn't do so well indoors for events like basketball. Not enough light I guess.

I'd like to get another lens to shoot some photos in the house. Typical holiday stuff, some events, that kind of thing.

I was thinking maybe a fast, 50mm lens would do the trick? Or should I consider a smaller, faster zoom than the one I have...maybe 50-75 or so?

Just looking for ideas, and any recommendations on the brand/model would be great!

Thanks!

I think a hot shoe flash may help you out alot more than any lens, especially indoor stuff at your home. This entirely depends on your home lighting though. In most cases, indoors without a flash, I'm shooting f1.4-f2 (depending on lens) at higher iso's(800-2000) with my d90. Thats with my 35 f1.8, 50 f1.8 and 85 f1.4. The drawback is that if it's a family gathering you may want more than one persons eye in focus. I say eye, not eyes, because at very wide open apertures you may only be getting one eye in sharp focus if your subject isn't perpendicular to your sensor(this depends on how close your are of course). You can get away with slower shutterspeeds with a wider focal length lens like a 35mm.

Grabbing a hot shoe flash and bouncing it off the ceiling and walls will open up a whole new world.

Jake, thanks, I may go for a different flash as well. Regarding the lens, I may not have said this, but I only have the one lens - it's something like a 75-300mm zoom. It's kind of big and has some limitations in small rooms. I wanted to get something a little smaller/lighter, and I thought higher speed would help in general.

Jim