Lens infos for newbies

cryoglobe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello

I'm new in photography...

I have problems about all those number etc for lens...

Who could help me understanding EF , IS , USM , 3.6-4.5 , , etc stuffs ?

Thanks

Thanks for the reply

I did some search on the forum before creating this thread...
Seems that I did not perform the good search :(

Sorry

cbay said:
3.6-4.5 is the reccommended F-Stops related to the Aperature.
That's wrong.
The f/3.6-4.5 on your lens refers to the maximum -- or widest -- apertures that your lens can use. On a fixed lens that doesn't zoom, there will only be one of these numbers, like f/3.6. If it's a zoom lens (which is the case here), there may be a range of aperture sizes, refering to the widest aperture available at the widest zoom setting and the widest aperture available at the longest (most zoomed in) setting. The lower number (in this case 3.6) is the widest aperture you can use when your lens is zoomed all the way out, and the higher (4.5) refers to when it's zoomed all the way in. For more information on what the lens aperture and how it works, try searching on google. There's a lot of good information on this kind of stuff out there.

cryoglobe said:
Who could help me understanding EF , IS , USM , 3.6-4.5 , , etc stuffs ?

EF is just a name Canon gives to their line of SLR lenses. It's not really important to know what it stands for (I don't even know). But is is useful to know that EF-S lenses will only work on some of Canon's digital SLR cameras (e.g. Digital Rebel, 20D, 1DMkIIn). So watch out for that when you're buying a lens for either a film camera or a digital one with a full 35mm-sized iamge sensor (e.g. 5D, 1DsMkII).

IS as someone already mentioned is an image stabilization system. It helps reduce camera shake when using a long telephoto lens, making it easier to make nice and crisp photos.