lens stored in camera bag

lschaaf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Okay, this might be a dumb question, but I'm a noob, so here it goes. When you are out shooting somewhere and you are going to switch between 2 lens frequently, how do you keep them in your camera bag? Obviously with the front lens cap on, but what about the back?

I was out the other day switching back and forth between a zoom and macro lens, putting both caps on and being very careful, but after a while, I started just stick the lens back in my front carry bag, with the glass side down w/lens cap, but leaving the back mount exposed. Then I started worrying about dust etc...so I wondered, how do most people do it?

Thanks!

I will do it from time to time but try really hard not to. The back of the lens is were all the components are that control you zoom and VR in your case provided it has VR. I wouldnt risk screwing that stuff up. Dust it something that can be taken care of pretty easily.

It might be a pain when you are changing lenses often, but keep both caps on.

I agree you want both caps on and if no lens is to be mounted on your camera then you definatly want a cap on that as well!
Any dust that gets into the back of the lens can fall onto your camera sensor - then its a pain to have to clean it. Granted at times it can be frustraiting - but then that is half the fun ;)
Often a different bag type can be a big help = shoulder bags are good for on the go with a few lenses - letting you change whilst standing - though I find that its only really suitable with lighter and smaller lenses. Bigger ones I perfer to carry in a backpack - its less tiring on one shoulder that way

Okay, this might be a dumb question, but I'm a noob, so here it goes. When you are out shooting somewhere and you are going to switch between 2 lens frequently, how do you keep them in your camera bag? Obviously with the front lens cap on, but what about the back?