lens to buy for D40?????

th3_man89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i just bought a D40 with 18-55mm and 55-200mm VR. those lenses works amazing for me. i wasn't just quite happy when i tried to shoot flying bird. since i'm just getting started, still can't find my preference though. i don't really like portraits, i don't find flowers that interesting also. i think i like shooting animals and landscape. and so, i was thinking of what lens should i aim next. I was thinking of 30mm or 50mm, a teleconverter, or a macro. can you guys help the beginner here??? ;p

do comment on my shot on www.flickr.com/photos/th3_man89/. thx.

p.s. D40 only works with AF-S, so... yeah. btw how to set signature?? i couldn't find it.

Last edited:
For a lens, I would suggest the Sigma 105mm, 150mm, or 180mm Macro. I, personally love macro work and everyone you show your pictures to will be amazed by the detail. For the signature, go to 'user cp' at the top left of any page in the forum. There is a tab on the left of the following page with all of your editing options. Click 'Edit Signature' and type what you would like there.

Hope this helps,
Mark

i just bought a D40 with 18-55mm and 55-200mm VR. those lenses works amazing for me.

Your shots are very good for my taste. I think you don't need any other lens or lenses for the time being. The greatest achievement is when you achieve greatness with humblest tools.

Can you do that?

Don't buy a teleconverter on an already slow lens. It'll drop your f-stop 1-2 making your lens even slower. Save your money and buy a better piece of glass if you really care, but yes, you are restricted to slower moving objects in lower light.

Your shots are very good for my taste. I think you don't need any other lens or lenses for the time being. The greatest achievement is when you achieve greatness with humblest tools.

Can you do that?