Light Type Question

Mastov

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I do web design for my company but recently fell into the role of also taking product photos. I am not a photographer, so I have zero experience using lights. I've begun reading "Light Science and Magic" but I still have questions.
I have a few questions:

1)

Most people seem to recommend "strobe" lights over "continuous lights". I can understand using strobe lights for portraits of people so as to not blind them or cause heat discomfort, but strobes seems impractical for product photography. I've tethered my camera to the computer to see the view finder on the screen using a program called "Capture One". This allows me to see lighting adjustments in real time before I take the photo. So with "Continuous" lighting I can tweak the light as I'm watching the screen. But with "Strobe" lighting it seem's I cannot adjust the light in real time and get immediate feedback.

2)

This is related to (1). When I visit a place like BH Photo or Adoram, I see the break down between
"strobe" and "continuous lights". Then within "strobe" and "continuous lights" there are a lot more options. I see the following break down:

"continuous" = LED, Tungsten, Fluorescent, HMI

"Strobe" = Monolight

If my understanding is correct "Tungsten" and "Monolight" are the two most common lights. "Tungsten" for "continuous" and "Monolight" for strobe. Most people prefer "Monolight" since it's not "hot".

LED is mostly used for film? The current consensus is that it's expensive and build quality is unpredictable. If LED technology is improved this would be favored over Tungsten.

HMI is used on big hollywood sets. There aren't any complaints, except that it's expensive so most photographers don't use it. Like LED most people would prefer this if they could afford it.

Fluorescent is cooler and uses less energy, but it doesn't give much light. For continuous lighting "Tungsten" is preferred over "Fluorescent".