Lighting help, please

bijoux

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been taking photographs for about 5+ years now, and for whatever reason, I cannot master lighting. I've always had trouble with it, and I was wondering if anyone had any tips or insight. When indoors I use two regular flood lamps/bulbs and sometimes that's still not enough. Alot of my photographs will just not turn out crisp, or it will be a very long shutter speed, which makes it hard for a model to stay still. Is making a model stay completely still during a long shutter speed normal? Should I get one of those flash-lights and how do those even work? Does anyone have any input as to what kind of lighting I should use? I would be more than happy to purchase something. Also, does anyone have any lighting tricks they'd be willing to share with me? Any reply is appreciated. Sorry for all the questions, but I'm getting frustrated.

Hey there. I am a semi-professional photographer and I have to say you will need to get strobes (flash-light) to get the crisp results you want. You can find cheap set-ups on ebay. (around $300 is what I paid) You can see the results I get with the lights on my website. I usually use one light...but a fill light comes in handy sometimes too.
Getting a model to sit still for long exposures is part of being a model. They are suppose to do what you want them to do. You are in control of the photoshoot. Sometimes I think they think it's the other way around. ;)

Good luck!

littlemama said:
Hey there. I am a semi-professional photographer and I have to say you will need to get strobes (flash-light) to get the crisp results you want. You can find cheap set-ups on ebay. (around $300 is what I paid) You can see the results I get with the lights on my website. I usually use one light...but a fill light comes in handy sometimes too.