LLC???

Stephanie Stewart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I just signed up through rocket lawyer to create an LLC. I've been doing Photography for a few years just family friends and not for profit. I wanted to legitimize myself and be able to expand and create a clientele. So has anyone used that particular service? If so what comes else? What else do I need to do? I know I'll need insurance. Will I have to file anything else with the state? I chose the option to have them do the tax ID for state and Federal. This is all just very new territory for me. We travel a lot and I'm not even sure if I'll have time to build a clientele. But it's my passion, and if I'm going to do it, I'm going to do it legally -I have way too much anxiety to not :)

Check into any state, local or municipal licenses and fees that you may need.

What about a registered agent? I know it says it's required, however it also says that I can be my own registered agent if I want? Also anyone know how long an LLC takes?

I've not used that service, but I am somewhat familiar with the tax IDs. You really don't need to pay anyone to do that, as the state and fedgov will do that at no charge to you, as I recall.

Do you have a written business plan? I think writing everything down is a big help in starting to get organized and making your other plans.

Are you in the USA?
If you are, LLC requirements/laws vary by state. So how long and how involved forming an LLC would take/be also varies by state.

In some states an LLC is a form of partnership and I understand in some it's actually a corporation. Which it is in your state depends what you'll do for Tax purposes. It's also a good idea to get what's called an "Umbrella Policy" on your personal self/family. That's separate from business insurance or personal house and car insurance. A couple million umbrella is not that expensive....