Location... what do you do or use??

ajandnickysmom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am very new to photography, I shoot mostly babies, families etc. so the majority of what i do is at peoples homes or on location (outdoors etc...) So if it's dead of winter and you have a shoot in someones home what do you use for backdrops etc. (babies are easy, i've figured that one out) But it's the rest! I ask bc i just posted a few maternity shots (the first one i've ever done) and part of the cc was too much going on in the background! GOOD POINT!! But what do you do?? Or do you deal with it pp??

Thanks!

I would suggest trying to avoid dealing with the background in PP if you can. It would be way too time consuming and probably won't look as good as just getting it right in the first place.

Remember that as the photographer, it's your call when to click the shutter. Take a look at the scene before you take the photo, and if it's not right, then fix it. If the background is too busy, then remove what you can, or change angles/locations so that it's better.

You can set up a fabric or paper backdrop and shoot onto that, or maybe find a location that works for the shot. It all depends on what you want to do and what you have to work with.

Here is a shot I created in the client's very small living room. I moved some of the furniture into the kitchen and stacked the rest up, just off frame.
di_tomkins-11-web.jpg

This next one was also shot in a client's living room. I set up a background stand and hung a white backdrop.
CandS-19-web.jpg

Here I hung a black backdrop.
Rem-1-web.jpg

A background stand and paper backgrounds aren't that expensive. You can get a nice durable background kit for about $150. Then you could get either seamless paper BG or some basic black and white muslin 10x20 for about $30 each. Like Mike said, it much better to get it right when you snap than spending hours making a BG in photoshop later.