looking for a new 35mm SLR

jackfrost

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new to the forum, and I'm looking for a little advice on a new camera to get. I'm an amateur and will use it only for artistic purposes. I'm hoping to spend around $300. I don't really have any brand loyalty, it's just hard to know where to start looking.

I currently have a couple cameras that were given to me: they are old Pentax Spotmatic F, and I have about four lenses that fit them (they say Asahi Takumar on them). are these worth anything? Is there anyway I can adapt these screw-type lenses to the new bayonet type cameras?

thanks for the help.

Hello and welcome to the forum! You forgot to add if you want a camera with all the electronic bells and whistles (auto focus, etc) or a manual camera. Since I'm a Nikon guy, I would recommend looking at Nikon on eBay. You said you wanted the camera for "artistic" purposes. I'm not really sure if I understand what you mean. Anyway, do your homework regarding what kind (not brand name) of camera you want and what's available in your price range. Personally, I think eBay has some very good deals. Looking at a recent photo rag, B&H offers (used) for example: a Nikon 8008 AF (body only) for $199 or a 8008S AF (body only) for $229 with both in condition of 8+. Nikon AF lenses are plentyful on eBay. I would suggest a 50mm "normal lense" f/1.8 to start with. Just a thought...

Canon's A series I beleive is comparable to the Nikons spoken of above. Their FD lenses are a dime a dozen and also fit a few other models I'm unfamiliar with. The A series are manual focus. I know the AE-1P meters and has some computer smarts on that line. Otherwise, you can flip it completely manual or partial, set whatever dials etc. you like. I know I can get a body w/ 50MM for $300 at a local camera store that charges too much, I imagine you can get one for a lot less on E-bay. That's my knowledge spent, lol :)