Looking for an Experienced Opinion

Eason

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've been trying to get into photography for the last few years. Last year I bought a pretty nice Sony P&S to warm up to the idea of taking photos. Now that I'm starting to travel a lot, I'm prepared to take the next step forward in photography.

Considering I'm still a newbie, I wanted to keep things relatively simple for the camera body and focus my funds more on some nicer lenses. When I feel comfortable with my knowledge and understanding, I intend to upgrade the body. I played with both Canons and Nikons a lot and decided on Nikon. I find the quality of the photos to be about equal, but, I like the weight of the Nikon in my grip.

Now, I live in Japan and I have decided to make my first purchase a D90. It felt solid, took some nice pictures when I played with it in the store, and is at a great price. I've read up a lot that I should avoid getting a lens kit; however, I looked up on the three lens kits they had available. This is where I need some help...

I read a lot of negative things about the lens kit that is the D90 plus 18-105mm 3.5-5.6 VR lens. But I read some great reviews for the other two lenses. One being the 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 VR and the other being an 18-200mm 3.5-5.6 IF.

Just the body is roughly $1,000 w/tax included. The lens kit with the 18-55 is about $1,300 and the 18-200mm around $1,700. The price isn't an issue, I was looking to spend roughly $2,000 on my starting setup anyway. What would you all recommend?

Also, I'm looking to start acquiring more lenses after a couple months of familiarizing myself with the camera and getting more experience and education in photography. What other lenses would you recommend?

Thanks in advance! I look forward to sharing some (hopefully) nice pictures with everyone!