Looking for an external flash (Nikon)

JohnS.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I always tell people to search for information whenever I'm on my automotive forums so I try to go by what I preach. And please bare in mind I am extremely new to photography. I have never used any form of external flash nor do I know anything about them until now.

With that being said, I'd like some input on the SB-600. I'm just a casual photographer. You can see my gear in my signature. The reason why I'm looking to get the 600 is for indoor use (which is 99% of the pictures I currently take with winter rolling in). I was at my cousins house yesterday for Thanksgiving and even though I was shooting @ ISO 400, 1/60sec, and f/1.8 in decent lighting, the pictures were still turning out darker than I expected. Plus, after seeing a lot of my recent photos taken inside my house, a lot of them are dark at f/1.8 and ISO 400 (I do not want to go any higher on the ISO since it's only the D40 and the noise gets noticeably and 100x worse at ISO 800 and higher. That and I suck at editing which I'm also trying to learn).

So I've spent the last hour or 2 reading up on the SB-600. Here is what I have gathered and my questions:
- The tilt and swiveling head is a HUGE plus for me, as I like to mix up the angle that I shoot. But does constantly pivoting the head make it wear out faster? Or can it even break if you're in a hurry and change it too fast?
- I read something about it only working up to 85mm zoom? Does that mean it doesn't work if you zoom past 85mm? Or is it just not effective past 85mm zoom?
- I also read that it doesn't come with a bounce card but taping an index card essentially does the same thing? Any downfalls to having to manually tape something on there or is there something I can buy?