LOW ISO settings in Nikon D90

Shiva_42

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm fairly new to DSLR's, so forgive me if this is an ignorant question:

The normal ISO sensitivity range on my D90 is 200-6400 (or something very close to that). Now, I can accurately imagine the potential issues if I artificially increase my ISO to HIGHER that the top value, but what is the potential downside of LOWERING my ISO for a shot?

I.E., I want to take a landscape shot in bright sunlight, but want some movement in the water in the pic, so I REDUCE my ISO to 100. What is the disadvantage of shooting my pic with this setting no longer on automatic?

I'm fairly new to DSLR's, so forgive me if this is an ignorant question:

The normal ISO sensitivity range on my D90 is 200-6400 (or something very close to that). Now, I can accurately imagine the potential issues if I artificially increase my ISO to HIGHER that the top value, but what is the potential downside of LOWERING my ISO for a shot?

I.E., I want to take a landscape shot in bright sunlight, but want some movement in the water in the pic, so I REDUCE my ISO to 100. What is the disadvantage of shooting my pic with this setting no longer on automatic?

Do you mean your shooting a landscape with water and want the water to look soft and flowy, silk like. Adjusting your ISO won't affect that look. ISO has to do with light sensitivity. Your shutter speed should be what your looking at. ISO can effect your shutter/aperature speed combinations to gain correct exposure though.

I think I understand what they are asking but don't know the answer either. The OP seems to be saying he wants to use LO1 iso setting on his camera so he can DROP his shutterspeed to getting the water looking silky. Maybe the situation was very bright and he needed to drop his shutter speed lower some more.