low prices because I'm starting?

Stanza

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Well, here I go:

I studied photojournalism in another country without finish the career because I moved to Canada. Now I'm and starting all again. I'm making my portfolio because I want to start to take this like a job. My question is: Do I have to put a very low price for sessions for the fact that I am young and be just starting? If I have to, how much can I ask for the firsts times of sessions? the middle of the general prices? a quarter?

I already post some pictures here. Somebody can give me some advices or opinions? Thanks!

(Sorry for my not perfect english!)

Have a read of this thread here: http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/general-shop-talk/256940-ideas-getting-busier-i-need-help.html

in particular read the parts referring to prices; prices for services don't just come out of the sky; you've got to first work our your costs of doing business; tax and also your living and life costs so that you can not only support the business but also yourself. Furthermore you've got to make space for profit and insurance; not to mention equipment upgrades and the like.

Once you've priced up all that you've got to look at your market area - see what the local prices are, but don't always aim to undercut, it can work short-term, but can also undermine your future if you undercut to the point where the market value of the product you're delivering lowers as well.

EDIT - also don't think you have to start of working for yourself, you might well be best placed to take an internship/second shooter or other job under an existing photography company; learn the ropes of both photography and business long before cutting out on your own.

Hi Stanza,