Massive group photo...

JTP

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone

I am a photographer for my high school yearbook and I have been given the task of taking our graduating class (300-350 people!!) group photo this year. Last year they hired a pro to do it but they're being cheap this time.

I have a Rebel XTi and I know how to use it fairly well, but I have no real experience with big pictures of this type (especially indoors).

Here's one of the shots taken by the pro from last year:

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/8937/dsc0027copygv8.jpg

As you can see, the space I have to work with is a double-size gym. The difference is, last year that photo made up a 2 page spread in the book on 9x12" pages (e.g. 18x12" image). This year, the book itself is landscape - so I need to have everyone spread out even more because in the book it will end up being a 9x24" image. Half the height, twice the width.

Last year it was b/w in the book but this year it's going to be in a colour section, so it's going to be even trickier to get right.

The setup I'm imagining has my camera attached to the top of a 8' or 10' ladder (both are available, I'll see which is best) with a Gorillapod. I have a remote shutter cable so I can get someone else to push the button, becasue I have to be in it. I'm going to rent a EF-S 10-22mm so that I can get everyone in. I'll set up a laptop with EOS utility so I can see the photos and make ajustments without climbing up and down the ladder. I'm planning on using the pull-out benches that you can see at the sides of the above shot to arrange everyone on, with an extra row of regular single benches if needed.