Memory Card and flashes...

boyer84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, first I would like to say that memory cards are on sale at circuit city. I just got an extreme III 4 gb for $47.99 when it's regular $99. Anyways, I also have a question about flashes. I really want to get one and not sure which to get. Currently I own a nikon D80 so the flash would be for that camera. I know most people will say either the SB 600 or SB 800 but I can't decide which one. I don't want to get one and then be disappointed that I didn't get the other one. I don't do photo shoots or professional photography currently but I might in the future. Right now I would just say I am an amateur or advanced amateur. Mostly I take pictures of family, friends, places, nature, etc. Would I really benefit from a flash? Also, Does anyone have examples of the SB 600 or SB 800 fired from on the camera with no other flashes. Like before and after shots. I just want to see what the difference is. Ok, well that's enough of my rambles for now. Thanks for reading.

Welcome to the forum.

As far as I know...the SB800 is the top end model. It has more power than the SB600...but as long as you are within the power limits of the SB600, there would be little or no difference in the photos.

Here is a comparison...http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/sb600vs800.htm

The 600 is nice, but the 800 is nicer.

- Of course it is stronger

- it has and can take advantage of a 5th battery for faster recycle times

- It can become the trigger in a multiple off camera strobe setup

Thats just a few things I can think of off the top of my head. I am sure there are a few more.