metering for night photography (film)

hao

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to film photography, and I was trying some night photography yesterday. The subject was buildings and streets after 8 or 9 pm, so the sky was completely dark. I knew that the meter on the camera was kind of useless in such dark situation, so I brought my digital camera to help me determine the shutter speed and etc. (ie. shoot in digital first to see the effect on the LCD then shoot in film accordingly)
But then what if I dont have the digital camera with me? How do you guys decide how long the shutter speed should be in order to produce the effect you expected? from experience? handheld metering? ( I doubt it would work) or just based on experience?

Thank you!:p

I was reading Ctein's method for night time metering using the in-camera meter and film, back in the day. He mentioned two methods, both fairly similar, but one was metering off of a white sheet of paper at night. Here is Ctein's own description and the URL
http://theonlinephotographer.typepad.com/the_online_photographer/2009/10/high-iso-high-noon.html

"Meter off a highlight or a white sheet of paper and it's like boosting your meter sensitivity an order of magnitude. If I could see it, I could meter it. It went like this: meter would tell me I needed 2/3 second at ƒ/2 off of white paper. Okay, that's 5 seconds for a proper grey. Now start stopping down for depth of field. There I am at ƒ/13 for a photo like this one and the nominal exposure time's pushing over 200 seconds. The film I'm using's got a 10X reciprocity correction at 200 seconds. And so, it's reading time!"

I would also suggest that you go here KODAK: Pictures by Existing Light: Tech Pub AC-61

and look at some typical exposure settings for night time work.