mobile flash set up, what else do I need?

Foxtrot_01

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
So I just bought my Nissin Di622($139 w/ free shipping at buydig.com) to use as an off camera flash. I have a Canon 40D and from the reviews, I have read that the Nissin can be triggered by the pop flash from my camera, or the IR from a master, no pocket wizard.
I don’t have a master yet(baby steps, still saving for it). The plan is to use the nissin as a slave and get a canon used 480 EX II(about $250 at BH/Adorama) as a master instead of buying a whole bunch of strobe lights. What else do I need, I am not looking to go pro or something like that, I want to build little by little a home studio where I can do photo shoots and be mobile enough to take it where ever I want to.
I think I need to get a stand for the flash right? And do I have to get a soft box or umbrella too?
Any ideas will be helpful. Sorry for so many questions, I am a noob here.
Thanks.

Is that Di622 is a optical slave? (like it will flash when see other flash)
If that is the case, all you need to trigger by a on-camera flash.

I think for lower the cost, getting a cheap ebay radio trigger is better. You may not really need any TTL stuff at all. Especially for digital since you can see the result right away. I am using 3 Vivitar 285Hv flashes ($90 new, I bought them for $50 used) with a cheap radio trigger such as the Cactus.

Sorry, I do not know too much about the Nissin model.

Dao, I believe it is an optical slave. what kind of setup do you have? I am interested in your option since its low cost and seems to provide the alternative of mobility. How can I integrate my new nissin di622 to a setup like yours? I guess I could get an extra Vivitar 285Hv flash(I havent had luck finding one for $50 though). The radio triggers are like 37(PT-04 Wireless Remote Radio Flash Trigger 2 Receiver $37, free shipping from honk kong)