Mother in Law

blackphoenix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
47408460441_c5c7ea8b8b_z.jpg
been taking more pics since i just bought my new external flash today and wanted to see how this turned out. I'm still very new to it and am learning about it. C&C welcomed!

I think with a little more work, this could be a picture which, in years to come will be a treasured memory. First and foremost, you need to start working with a colour-balanced system. This is HORRIBLY yellow. If you do nothing else this week, work on understanding white balance! The main issue i see with the image from an artistic perspective is that she appears a bit annoyed or alarmed; whether she is or not is of little consequence. She looks like she is.

Try this again, but before you shoot, spend some time just talking with her. Explain what you're doing, and get her to relax. I think this would be much stronger if she appeared to be reading the paper and petting her dog. Eye contact is important, but in this case, I think the image will work better with out it. Oh, and watch your cropping... that missing bit of right elbow...

A one-click WB, with the LR eyedropper placed on the lower right of the paper...gets the yellow out...

Attachments

• 47408460441_c5c7ea8b8b_z_Edited for TPF_1000x_4x5.JPG
    47408460441_c5c7ea8b8b_z_Edited for TPF_1000x_4x5.JPG
    107.5 KB · Views: 80
Last edited: