Mounting on Alumimium

othomas2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, hust new here so this may have been answered before.

I have my Degree Show in a months time. For this I am displaying 12 or 13 small 150x120 cm hand coloured satin finish B&W photographs. However I wish to monunt them on Aluminium and know very little about this. I am in London so if anyone can suggest where I could get this done I would be very apreciative.

Or I can buy sheets from somewhere and cut them myself within the metalwork department at college, but would like to get the best effect.

I would like them to to be off the wall by about half a cent. so will need some blocks or something on the reverse. Also what adhesive is best?

Basically if anyone can direct me to the best way I can do this that would be great. I don't have a huge amount of money.

Thanks Owen

If you can find anywhere to do this it will cost.
If you have a metalwork dept. then cut your own.
Protect the face by sticking some polythene on (spraymount works) as aluminium scratches easily.
Cut the sheet a couple of cm's bigger along the top and bottom.
Use a box folder or Gabro to fold 1cm strip at 90 degrees top and bottom.
Move in another cm and fold again.
This should give you a U-shaped section top and bottom which will space the sheet 1cm from the wall.
Drill two holes either end of the top back strip and you can use this for mounting.
Clean and polish the ali face.
Mount your pictures using Unibond or similar.
If you use rubber-based adhesive you can clean off any over-glueing with lighter fluid.
Does that help?

(If you buy the technicians a bottle of Scotch they might help you)

Thanks for that. I think I will do just that.
The pro's can do bad jobs also. I have a bad feelings in trusting others with my work anyways.

All I need to know now is where to buy it from.