Multiple Exposure - Combining images in photoshop

benjyman345

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello,

I am thinking of doing some really long exposures of the night sky to get star trails with my new DSLR. To do this I will put it on bulb mode and lock the shutter open.

The only limitation is that my digital camera bulb mode only goes for 8 minutes... so I was thinking after the 8 minute exposure I could take a second exposure for 8 minutes and then combine the images using photoshop. I am NOT talking about combining images to make a HDR image!

How do I combine the images in photoshop to make one single image?
I am fairly new to photoshop so I am looking for easy step by step instructions.

Thanks heaps!

If you're not talking about making an HDR, I have no idea what you're talking about.

Can you clarify?

For example if I want to take a 16 minute exposure of the night sky.

To do this you would normally set your camera to bulb mode and lock the shutter open for 16 minutes.
The problem is my DSLR camera only goes up to 8 minute shutter speeds. So to achieve this 16 minute exposure I would lock the shutter open for 8 minutes then, take a second photo for 8 minutes (immediately after the first). I would then combine the two images to achieve the same results as one photo taken for 16 minutes.

Photoshop does not have a logical add option in it's layer blending modes. However never fear. http://www.tawbaware.com/imgstack.htm We have the technology.

For the record, ignoring camera limitations this is a great idea regardless since it totally eliminates long exposure noise from the image and greatly reduces thermal noise as the sensor is reset several times. The other big bonus is that program linked above includes the option of selecting the brightest pixel from each stack which means if you're doing startrails you effectively cut straight through the noise pollution.
773160897_fae20200db.jpg