My American Pit Bull Terrier mix!

Aidan9

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Meet Atlas: He's an american pit bull terrier X bull terrier mix. I rescued him just a few weeks ago! He's great for the camera.

Atlas1.jpg

Atlas7.jpg

Atlas5.jpg

Aidan, exercise your critical faculties here.
Which one is the best?
Why do you think so?
What is it about the picture that other people, who may nopt care about dogs at all, would care about?

Cute! I think thefirst two have an orangish yellowish tinge.

My favorite is the 2nd one I took. I think it captures his personality the best..he's a big goofy and slightly dumb dog, but I love him. I was experimenting with my camera while out on a walk today using the manual settings..so I may have set something up incorrectly. I'm taking classes in the spring but until then I'm just learning what I can on my own! I'm not sure about the orange tint..although my dog is slightly orange from the clay type sand all over my backyard. It's difficult to keep him looking white..but if it's a setting I'm not sure how to go about fixing it. It was hard finding places to hide from the sun..I went out a bit earlier than I wanted to and the sun was still very much all over the place.

Aidan,

If this was a dog site, then 3 pictures of your dog would be fine because dog lovers would just be happy to see more.
This is a photography site and we are interested in pictures rather than the subject.
You should look at your pictures, figure out which one you think is the best and why as a photograph.
Then the comments will help you be a better photographer.

The most 'powerful' places in a picture are generally at the junction of the thirds. This 'rule' doesn't really count for portrait where the main subject can dominate the center but needs to be considered.
Look at this picture.
The only interesting parts, the center of interest is in the top left part of the picture and the top right corner is essentially empty.