pm63

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm looking to get into photography, and have been told that there's no point in getting a point-and-shoot, I might aswell just get an SLR. I'm a web designer and my life is pretty computer-centered, so I need a DSLR.

I've been to a few stores and read up about them online.

At first I was reccomended a Pentax K100D by the guy in the store, highly reccomended in DP Review. However, I phoned my uncle who is a pro photographer and he told me not to touch Pentax because they now suck. I was told the same by an assistant in another store.

He reccomended me a Canon EOS 400D, or a Nikon D40/D40X.

These both seem to me like better cameras but they are very expensive (even more so including lens, CF cards, etc.). Also, in DP Review's review of the Canon, it only scored a touch better than the Pentax, same with the Nikon.

On Jessops.com, the Canon EOS 400D is going for £438.79/$876 with cashback, the Nikon D40x for £489.80/$978 and there is a store near me selling the Pentax K100D for £300/$600! All prices included lens.

What are your opinions? I have been told that Canon are less likely to change their lens, making it a more worthwhile investment, but I will have to save up for a long time to afford the Canon or Nikon, and to tell the truth could barely stretch to any of these prices. :(

Should I get the Pentax or save and get the Canon or Nikon?

Any help would be very apprechiated!!

Regards,

pm63

If you think a DSLR is expensive wait till you look at the prices of the other lenses!

What do you plan to use it for? To use it creatively you probably need different and better lenses.