My first "Urban"ish photos

OfMikeandMen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Constructive criticism welcomed and encouraged, as well as praise. I am a newbie, and am looking to get better. I'm really working on exposure right now. I haven't read anything on urban, but if you have any suggestions for composition, exposure, or anything, really, it's welcomed. Enjoy. :)
1. $tumblr_mjzmcqIGwc1s8nfc4o5_1280.jpg
2. $tumblr_mjzmcqIGwc1s8nfc4o3_1280.jpg
3.$tumblr_mjzmcqIGwc1s8nfc4o1_1280.jpg
4. $tumblr_mjzmcqIGwc1s8nfc4o4_1280.jpg
5. (This one wouldn't post for some reason so here's a link) http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/6591/dsc1465y.jpg

I know 5 is a lot to post, but any picture you want to give feedback on, if only just one, would be great. Thanks everyone.

Before I give you an answer to your question, I need you to answer mine.

What were you trying to convey with your photos? Did you have a message you were trying to tell the viewer?

If you answered no to either one of these, even for a brief moment, then I would recommend you set goals before your next shooting outing. Personally, I draw up almost all of my shots, sometimes mentally rather than physically if I'm in a rush. I keep those images in my head, and create the real image to mirror them. Most every photo has a meaning to it, some kind of message, before the camera has even been picked up. Thats just my style, it doesn't work for everyone, but its a suggestion :D

Otherwise I'd give you the same old advice everyone gets at some point. Isolate your subject. In most of the above images its quite hard to determine what you were wanting to shoot, let alone why, or what value said subject held. Don't shoot just for the sake of shooting, your shutter only has so many actuations till it croaks, make them last :lol:

#3 is a candidate for the brick wall thread

Before I give you an answer to your question, I need you to answer mine.