My Sister - Firsts with New Camera

K8-90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I finally got my new camera; it's long time coming. Well, I love it! It's a Canon XSi and a 50mm 1.8 (I also got a Sigma OS 18-200mm). I've been saving for and researching DSLRs for a while now (3 years...Eugh!), so I couldn't wait to get it out of the box and in my hands. They really should come with pre-charged batteries - waiting for it to charge nearly killed me :p

Anyways, I thought I'd post some impromtu shots. I've been shooting manual and focusing manual, so I didn't pay much attention to composition, as I was more caught up in figuring everything else out. My sister made the mistake of walking into my room and got suck being "subject". I'd still appreciate some C&C, though :)

Anyways, here they are!

IMG_03092.jpg

2. (1 in B&W)
IMG_0309BW.jpg

IMG_02942.jpg

4. (3 in B&W)
IMG_0294BW.jpg

IMG_03172.jpg

6. (5 in B&W)
IMG_0317BW.jpg

nice exposures......composition is a bit bland though.

Thanks! As this is my first DSLR, I was really focusing on exposures and DOF. And I agree about the composition. I honestly just stuck her in front of a window, adjusted the camera and clicked! Composition will my next step :)

I think they are really lovely actually. I wish the first one had both eyes in focus

Oh, thanks!
Haha, yeah - I got a little carried away with the amazingly shallow DOF on the 50mm... :p

Great shots!

Wow, thanks :D

Nice images, your composition is very nice....your sister's eyes are what set it apart. Keep up the good work

Thanks! And I'll pass that compliment on to my sister :)
I love her eyes, especially in the last B&W shot.

I think you're on the right track....
and if, like you said, you weren't really paying attention to comp. I think you actually did a great job! Especially for just playing around and getting used to your new camera!!

keep working and playing... you've obviously got something to work with ;)