My son

lmlitz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Took this yesterday. I'm still learning how to photograph children so any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

• $April 11 2014 158.JPG
    $April 11 2014 158.JPG
    882.3 KB · Views: 90
You might want to use a flash to brighten up his face and turn down your exposure because of the sun over exposing the right side of his face. Otherwise I think it's good content. Handsome young man too.

The trick is to use the proper metering method. Expose for your subject, damn the rest. Also I feel there's just a bit too much space over his head but it's certainly an image worthwhile for you and him.

No matter what the subject, always consider the light. This was shot at a good time of day, with the sun somewhat lower, so position yourself such that when the child is watching you, his face is turned more toward the sun. Note: not directly into the bright sun, but just before he starts to squint. If the sun is lower, it is even easier to face the sun without squinting.

Be sure to set your metering spot on his face, as Trever1 has written.

This shot shows fairly good composition, with some flaws such as the background elements, too much space above his head, extra space to the left of the tree, but overall, it is not bad. The light is my main quibble.

Nice centering!