Named company photographer - now what???

big_tuna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Let me first say, I am an amateur photographer, very amateur.

But I have been placed responsible for photographing meetings (mostly public meetings) as well as project sites for my company.

I don't think they want to go with anything too advanced, so I'm thinking a D80 will do? Not sure about which lenses.

If anyone has any suggestions for courses, books, anything, please let me know. I want to take this seriously and want to take good pictures.

I appreciate the help!

Would have to know at least what you are taking pictures of.

Id badges don't require much of a camera, but company events, and promotions might.

I will be taking photos of public speakers, meeting participants, social events, etc.

I will also need to travel to project sites such as Yosemite, San Francisco, to take scenic photos of the area.

I understand what I'm asked to do doesn't require anything special. But I am interested in photography and really want to use this opportunity to build my portfolio for future projects.

WHADDYA TALKING BOWT!

Canon EOS 5D MK II or Canon EOS 1D MK III
With a 28mm L IS AF lens and a 400mm f4.5 L IS AF is all that will work!
(if the company is paying that is :p)

If YOU must buy the camera...
I recommend a Canon EOS 1000D or a 400D or a 450D
However if your company also want Video then go with a 500D (pretty expensive as it is new) but the 5d MKII can take better quality videos (as i said... ONLY IF THE COMPANY IS PAYING!)
The cheapest of the lot being the 1000D

But seriously now... how far will you be from the subject...

You may be able to do it with a 18-55mm but you might need something with more of a focal length like a 70-300mm IS AF USM III (only if your about 0.15 miles from the speaker ofcourse...)

Also remember: Every time you buy a nikon, another Cat dies, If you hate Cats... go ahead buy a nikon

Last edited:
WHADDYA TALKING BOWT!