'Narrow' - But Wide Angle?

mmiller741

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I am a teacher that takes a lot of large group shots in front of a 20' wide green screen. I have a 10-18mm Canon lens and 18-55mm Canon lens. These are just not working for me. The 10-18mm gets me the wide angle I need, but I get too much background (basically, the lens is capturing more than just the green screen. The 18-55mm captures just the green screen in the background, but it's nowhere near wide enough to get the whole group. Any recommendations on lenses or settings for me. If it helps, I have a Canon Rebel t3i. The images below were taken with the 10-18mm lens. I wound up cropping the subjects and then editing those images in Photokey Pro.

IMG_0015.JPG IMG_0001.JPG

You'd need an anamorphic lens ;)

Use the 10-18 to get the width you need, then crop out the top & bottom in post.

You might have an issue with your flash not illuminating wide enough. Use more flashes.

When you take the photo there is a digital sensor which is rectagular.

Thus each photo will have the same length and width irregardless of how close or far you are from the subject.

Cropping, as you have done, allows you to get rid of extra space here and there. You camera may have some cropping ability in the menus. On Nikons there is a "Retouch" menu that allows one to edit pictures in camera - I'm not sure if your Canon has that ability.

Thanks everyone. I definitely should have set up my lights for the greenscreen. I was just too lazy last night. ;-)

astroNikon - I'll have to look into the camera options. I was hoping to not have to edit every picture. Last night was a small district event of less than 40 shots. Other events I help with are upwards of 150+ pictures - that's a lot of cropping. So without a lens fix, maybe I should be asking for any batch cropping software?

Adobe LightRoom can do batch cropping, but is not free.