Need advice regarding camera

Nezumi-kun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Nikon D3100 since 2011, however, not until now did I have the interest in utilizing its potential and functions. I was used to setting the camera in automatic, hence, it was not utilized properly.

Recently, I became interested in photography. But since I'm still in training (as a med), my budget is limited at the mlment. I would like to ask if it would be better if I just buy additional lenses for my D3100 (I've read about prime lenses) or it would be much better if I buy a new one (entry level mirrorless/dslr)? I only have the 18-55mn kit lens at present by the way.

Thanks a lot in advance guys!

You don't say your budget or intended shooting type, but the Nikon 35mm f1.8 dx and the 50mm f1.8 are two inexpensive lenses that will allow your camera shine better than the kit lens

Oh, welcome to the forum btw

Thanks jaomul! Currently I'm studying how to take portrait and night shots.

Btw, considering a budget of around 500 dollars, will it be better if I just use my D3100 and invest in new lenses, or buy a new dslr/mirrorless camera (to be upgraded later on)?

If it were me I'd buy lenses first. Once you stick with Nikon fit lenses you can upgrade body later.

If portraits I'd get the 50mm f1.8. I'd then add something like a yongnuo yn 560 iii flash unit and a set of yongnuo triggers, not the TTL ones, read up on that flash. I'd probably also look at an umbrella and a softbox, maybe some stands. You should have change from 350 dollars

Oh, possibly add a tripod, a cable release and a 5 in one reflector. All these combined will open infinitely more possibilities than just upgrading a camera body