Need buying advice: Nikon D7200/d5500 for moving horses / animals outside and lightbox macro work?

iLLucionist

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

Last time I did photography was in the era of the Nikon D40/D70/D90. I need some serious buying advice. I am a beginner. I do grasp basic concepts, but I have a lot to learn. Making quick perfect pictures is most certainly not in my muscle memory.

I want to buy a new camera for two things:
1) moving horses outside
2) lightbox work: macro photos of technology

Oh and I like vivid, a bit oversatured photos. I find "reallife" a bit dull (does that sound weird?)

I am leaning towards either the Nikon D7200 or D5500. Would that fit the purpose? What do I need to look for? Or should I consider canon / sony or what else?

Both are great, the d7200 does have the advantage of having better autofocus and more frames per second along with being weather sealed and having better handling, but as for image quality they are both so similar it won't matter most times.

It be better to buy a d5500 with a very good lens, than buy a d7200 with a poorer quality lens

Hi,
Oh and I like vivid, a bit oversatured photos. I find "reallife" a bit dull (does that sound weird?)
I agree with jaomul...but I'll also add that the "oversaturated" look is something that can be done in post-processing very easily, so the camera doesn't matter so much with that, as long as you shoot in RAW.

Both are great, the d7200 does have the advantage of having better autofocus and more frames per second along with being weather sealed and having better handling, but as for image quality they are both so similar it won't matter most times.

It be better to buy a d5500 with a very good lens, than buy a d7200 with a poorer quality lens